Topic: Review : Chameleon 64 from Vesalia / Individual Computers ( includes Photos )  (Read 14803 times)

Offline HeadingtonBard

• C128
  • Kudos 12
    • View Profile
    • Alex Aris Games
Introduction ::

Important Note : Chameleon 64 does not work with the Commodore 128 or Cartridge Expanders. An attempt to test or try either method could result in the Hardware being damaged or malfunction !

I had been eyeing up this *special* Cartridge for a few months and kept " Umming " and " Ahhing ". Until I made the final decision to go for it and " caved in " to it's features and options. The yellow casing is strangely appealing, even if some may think it is as odd. Even the are blue buttons pleasing to the eye and to be honest, does it really matter what colours the Cartridge and Buttons are ? ( for the colour conscience person out there ).

The Photo below clearly shows, that yellow and blue do go together with a " Matlow " Swizzler Refresher as an example ( now consumed - yum ! )

( Top ) SD Card Slot / VGA Output - Separate Monitor Needed
( Front ) LED's Power Red and Active Green - Buttons Left > Disk Change Middle > Freeze Right > Reset

The Cartridge has several inputs for different Cables :

A Breakout Cable ( Left ) is for Power, Standalone Mode ( not tested fully at the moment ) and  PS/2 Connector ( Right ) for Keyboard and Mouse with an extra USB is for Data. Also, there is a Battery, in the middle of the Photo, this can be used for a Battery Backup Clock that the Chameleon supports. However, you will have to open the Cartridge in able to place the Battery inside. If so, great care is needed, so not to damage the casing. A small Flat-ended Screwdriver could be used in such a case.

( Left ) PS/2 Connector for Keyboard and Mouse etc / ( Right ) USB Port for Power / Data

( Left ) VGA Output ( Right ) SD Card Slot

( Left to Right ) Audio Output  / Infrared Receiver for CDTV Remote ( same hole as Audio ) and space for the RR-net rev.2 Ethernet Interface.